USCA faculty recognized for their commitment to student success during Celebration of Excellence event

The University of South Carolina Aiken celebrated excellence in faculty teaching, advising, scholarship, and service during its annual Celebration of Excellence event on April 15 in the university’s Etherredge Center. 

Top award recipients included those faculty recognized for excellence in teaching, part-time teaching, advising, scholarly achievement, university service, and community service. 

Honorees included: 

·       Dr. Adam Pazda, Excellence in Teaching

·       Dr. Elizabeth Burgess, Excellence in Part-time Teaching

·       Dr. Christopher DeWitt, Excellence in Advising

·       Dr. Titan Paul, Excellence in Scholarly Achievement

·       Dr. Tim Lintner, Excellence in University Service

·       Dr. Heather Peterson, Excellence in Community Service 

The university also honored retiring faculty, including:

·       Dr. Edward J. Callen, professor of psychology, 38 years of service

·       Dr. Christopher DeWitt, professor of exercise and sports science, 29 years of service

·       Dr. Sally McClellan, associate professor of education, 27 years of service

·       Dr. Joyce Pompey, associate professor of nursing, 28 years of service

·       Dr. Karl Stenger, associate professor of German, 38 years of service

·       Dr. Thayer McGahee, professor of nursing, 19 years of service 

In addition, faculty were recognized for successfully completing various professional development and scholarship programs, including New Faculty Connections, a program designed to connect USCA’s new faculty with essential resources and faculty and staff from across campus; the Masters Teaher’s Series, which includes workshops focused on best practices for supporting student learning and engagement; and the RISE program, which awards monies for summer research salaries, supplies, travel, and undergraduate student support. 

New Faculty Connections awardees included:

·       Dr. Olivia Smith 

·       Dr. Sonia Tariq 

·       Dr. Todd Jenkins 

·       Ms. Kate Channel 

Master’s Teacher’s Series awardees included: 

·       Ms. Kate Channel 

·       Dr. Katie Chargualaf 

·       Dr. Jeremy Culler 

·       Dr. Paul Hudson 

·       Dr. Robert Leach 

·       Dr. Philip Mason 

·       Dr. Jason Munsell 

·       Dr. Emily Nobles 

·       Dr. Michelle Petrie 

·       Dr. Angel Ranales 

·       Dr. Alexandra Roach 

·       Dr. Katie Smith 

·       Mrs. Beverly Snyder-DeSalles 

·       Dr. Linda Wang 

·       Ms. Elizabeth Webb 

·       Dr. William Westermeyer 

·       Dr. Douglas White 

RISE awardees included:

·       Dr. Matt Miller

·       Mr. Neil Miller

·       Dr. MK Mills

·       Dr. Adam Pazda

·       Dr. Olivia Smith

·       Dr. Laura Swain

Faculty who were recognized by external agencies over the previous year with awards or appointments were also recognized, including: 

·       Dr. Titan Paul received the Center for Resilience Excellence South Carolina Cycle 2 Advanced Research grant. 

·       Dr. Brian Parr was selected as a 2024 NCAA Division II Faculty Athletics Representative Fellow. 

·       Dr. Kelly Gibson received a two-year National Science Foundation grant. 

·       Dr. DeAnna Gore was invited to participate in the Fulbright-Hays Seminar Abroad in Taiwan. 

·       Dr. Melencia Johnson was appointed by the Commission of Archives and History to serve as a commissioner on the South Carolina African American Heritage Commission. 

·       Dr. Deborah McMurtrie received the National Association of Professors of Middle-Level Education Outstanding Professor of Middle-Level Education Award. 

·       Dr. Bridget Coleman received the South Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics Outstanding Contribution to Mathematics award. 

In addition, those faculty who were granted leave in the past academic year for academic or scholarly pursuits included:

·       Dr. Doug Higbee

·       Dr. Roger Deal

·       Dr. Paul Titan 

For more information, Christen Engel -